Skip to content

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

April 22, 2012

December 22, 2011 6:59pm

They say that ignorance is bliss, but is it really?

I look out the window of the train I am on right now and all I can see is darkness. Even as I focus my eyes, all I can see is the my reflection and the reflection of the girl sitting beside me (a new friend that I have made). I am anxious about things: anxious about going home, anxious about seeing people I have not seen in a while, anxious about my future.

I am anxious because I do not know. I am anxious because I am ignorant to what is to come.

Maybe my mind would be more at ease if I knew what was to come. Because then, I could prepare myself for it and attack it head on when it comes at me.

But they say that ignorance is bliss, and this is true, also. I often sleep with much anxiety when I know that there is a spider creepily crawling along my ceiling too far out of reach for me to kill it. It is in those moments that I wish I had not seen it, and it is in those moments that I know that ignorance is bliss.

So which one is better? Knowing or not knowing? Knowing that something good is going to happen so you can be happy and knowing that something bad is going to happen so you can prepare for it? Or not knowing that something good is going to happen so you can be pleasantly surprised and not knowing that something bad is going to happen so you can be blissfully ignorant?

The answer to this question, I do not know.

“How happy is the blameless vestal’s lot!
The world forgetting, by the world forgot.
Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind!”

From Eloisa to Abelard by Alexander Pope. (The exchanging of letters between two lovers who are suffering at the hands of Love. This poem is one of four. I also highly recommend The Rape of the Lock, also by Alexander Pope. It has nothing to do with love, but it is quite the humorous work.)

I guess this goes back to the other post, “Lovers with Grey Voices”. Knowing is such a weird thing. Would I rather like to know than to not know at all? Would I rather love than to not love at all? In other words, is there really eternal sunshine of the spotless mind? How puzzling a question this seems to be.

Want to be even more confused on this matter? Watch “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” with Jim Carrey and  Kate Winslet. (What a beautiful movie with such commendable actors.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 26, 2012 9:11 pm

    Really enjoyed your post. I’ve recently written a post inspired by the movie and “Eloisa to Abelard.” You might like it — http://wp.me/sCj23-lacuna.

Leave a Reply

