Skip to content

Girl Power

April 23, 2012

March 4th, 2012 10:55pm

Why is it that men think they’re better than us women? Wait, let me rephrase that. Why is it that society still favours the man over the woman? You know what I think? I think that men and women shouldn’t even be compared! We were made to be good at different things, that’s just all there is to it.

Who says that being able to lift heavy things is better? Who says that being great at baking is not as valuable as being able to lift heavy weights? Women are damn great and are under appreciated, that’s what I think!

Anyway, those were the thoughts that were rushing through my head on two occasions today.

First, when I was listening to the radio while writing my Aristotle paper, and Canadian singer Shania Twain came on with her catchy song, “That Don’t Impress Me Much”. The second time was when I was watching season two of Sex and the City, episode thirteen called “Games People Play” while eating a late lunch/ early supper. There was one line that Samantha said that I thought was just completely hilarious:

“It’s slim pickins out there. You can’t swing a Fendi purse without knocking over five losers. Where did all the great guys go?”.

I thought that was a great line on empowering the female person.

Girls and women everywhere, listen here! Don’t ever let any man tell you that you’re not good enough – if he tells you this, then you’ll know right away that he’s not good enough. We gotta stick together, because baby, this is girl power.

(Please feel free to belt along at the top of your lungs. Don’t worry, I do it all the time.)

I’ve known a few guys who thought they were pretty smart
But you’ve got being right down to an art
You think you’re a genius-you drive me up the wall
You’re a regular original, a know-it-all
Oh-oo-oh, you think you’re special
Oh-oo-oh, you think you’re something elseOkay, so you’re a rocket scientist
That don’t impress me much
So you got the brain but have you got the touch
Don’t get me wrong, yeah I think you’re alright
But that won’t keep me warm in the middle of the night
That don’t impress me muchI never knew a guy who carried a mirror in his pocket
And a comb up his sleeve-just in case
And all that extra hold gel in your hair oughtta lock it
‘Cause Heaven forbid it should fall outta placeOh-oo-oh, you think you’re special
Oh-oo-oh, you think you’re something else

Okay, so you’re Brad Pitt
That don’t impress me much
So you got the looks but have you got the touch
Don’t get me wrong, yeah I think you’re alright
But that won’t keep me warm in the middle of the night
That don’t impress me much

You’re one of those guys who likes to shine his machine
You make me take off my shoes before you let me get in
I can’t believe you kiss your car good night
C’mon baby tell me-you must be jokin’, right!

Oh-oo-oh, you think you’re special
Oh-oo-oh, you think you’re something else

Okay, so you’ve got a car
That don’t impress me much
So you got the moves but have you got the touch
Don’t get me wrong, yeah I think you’re alright
But that won’t keep me warm in the middle of the night

That don’t impress me much
You think you’re cool but have you got the touch
Don’t get me wrong, yeah I think you’re alright
But that won’t keep me warm on the long, cold, lonely night
That don’t impress me much

Okay, so what do you think you’re Elvis or something…
Oo-Oh-Oh
That don’t impress me much!

Oh-Oh-Oh-Oh-No
Alright! Alright!

You’re Tarzan!
Captain Kirk maybe.
John Wayne.
Whatever!
That don’t impress me much!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

