Skip to content

Moving…ain’t so fun

April 30, 2012

Yesterday, I woke up at 8am. I spent a couple hours packing and then took six or seven trips from the old apartment to the new apartment. What was I doing? I was wheeling my suitcase + bags back and forth, back and forth. Each time, I would pack as much as I could into the suitcase (& bags), wheel it over to the new apartment by foot, get to the new apartment, unpack, and then wheel the suitcases (& bags) back to the old apartment. I did this six or seven times!

That lasted until four o’clock. At four, I decided that I didn’t want to “wheel” anymore. I did so much walking yesterday and today, my feet must look horrible!

Then I asked three people, on separate occasions, if they would have dinner with me. They either didn’t pick up or canceled at the last second. Needless to say, I was walking around A LOT.

Today, I woke up with great enthusiasm. It’s moving day, woohoo! My roommate M was worried that our movers weren’t going to show up at the allotted time (1:30). After all, their ad on Craigslist was too good to be true. $45 for the first hour and $25 for each additional hour for TWO movers. I told her, “Well, why wouldn’t they show up? Why would they book us a slot and not show up? Who would do that?”

Well, they did that. They didn’t show up. They didn’t even call to cancel! By 1:35, we were already on the phone looking for new movers. After getting a recommendation from our friend N, we decided to call C. However, because it was last minute, he told me that he wouldn’t make it until later tonight. “9 maybe,” he said.

After many exchanges of texts messages, he finally arrived with a friend at 10:30 pm. They didn’t finish until 12:15. Now mind you, C was a handsome fellow. But boy did they complain a lot! I felt like I was babysitting a bunch of teddy bears! But they were nice, and courteous. Of course, they must have had a long day. “7 am workdays”, he told me.

Well, that was that. I’ll elaborate on my “moving stories” in a couple of days. Trust me, you’ll want to hear all about how M and I moved all of our stuff by ourselves last year. We “wheeled” all of our stuff on trolleys for approximately ten blocks. A passerby told us that it was the sketchiest move he had ever seen. Trust me, it was. Anyway, now I have to worry about unpacking!

(Please read the hilarious exchanges of text messages between M and I while the guys were moving our stuff. M has an exam tomorrow, so she was at the library studying away.)

10:31pm

T: They’re coming in one min!! Wish me luck that this will be efficient!

M: Don’t let them move small boxes, all the the heavy ones first. Furniture and my drawer and then heavy boxes.

T: Yah, I divided everything up by weight. I put them in different corners in your room.

T: Omg, one of the guys is so cute

M: Please relax yourself

T: I’m not joking. Probs twenty-smt.

M: Have they been efficient?

T: Okay, I think this is definitely going to take more than an hour. Fml.

T: He’s using our bathroom… They better not be stalling!

T: The second guy keeps panting. The van is pretty big actually!

T: We’re still loading stuff into the truck -.-

T: They’re driving to the apartment. I’m walking. I hope they don’t drive away with our stuff….

M: What would they do with all your crap? LOL

T: What time are you going to be home at? The bed frame won’t fit in the elevator and they won’t carry it up the stairs….

T: Or maybe they will, they’re such complainers. I’ll keep ya posted.

M: I’m going home now

T: Okay, I’ll meet you at the old apartment. Damn!! I should have had a bowl of special K before I left. Now I’m hungrayyyy.

 

That’s that! I’m at the old apartment right now. Going to wheel a box or two on my swivel chair and then unpack (not before eating Special K Cereal of course) while indulging in bad tv shows on my laptop!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

