Skip to content

My Dad, the Funny Man

June 5, 2012

I am finally home – home back in Toronto. It has been a long school year with the one month of summer school and all (and more school to come July-August). But it’s over now, and I’m home! I would like to take this moment to apologize for the lack of posts within the last month or two, but it’s summer and I promise to post regularly!

Anyway, my parents came up for the weekend to help me pack and to take some of my unused things home. The car was filled to the brim and we only managed to take half of my things back! Needless to say, I woke up pretty sore today because of that awkward position I sat in for 6 or so hours in the car. But other than that, I pretty much enjoyed the ride. I started reading “A Beautiful Mind” by Sylvia Nasar. It’s the biography of John Forbes Nash, Jr. It’s a very good read, I highly recommend it! I especially enjoyed the chapter on Princeton’s history. But of course, that’s a story for another time.

Though it rained the whole time, this weekend was great. Seeing my parents and the way they interacted with each other and my brother just made me very happy; I had totally forgotten what it feels like to be around family. So anyway, this weekend was especially enjoyable because of my dad.

Now my dad, though in his fifties, still acts like a child. Even some of my friends have said this. But you know what? That’s what I love so much about him. He is a very playful man who is not at all, afraid of being embarrassed. I remember how this one time, a couple of years ago, we were standing in line at McDonalds when a cop came and stood beside us. He was waiting for his food. My dad glanced at him and smiled. The copy smiled back and my dad said jokingly, “You didn’t give us a ticket did you?”. The cop and my dad shared a laugh and I remembered feeling embarrassed. But now, looking back, it was just all so amusing! I definitely get my silliness from him! Anyway, Below are snippets of this weekend.

Dad (to Michael): […] Kaputt!

(Dinner at a high end Indian Restaurant)

Mom: This would be a nicer place for a date – it’s romantic, but not a very family-friendly place.

Dad: Well, we could be romantic. You’re my girlfriend 😉

(Him calling my mom his girlfriend continued on for the rest of the dinner.)

Dad (at the Indian restaurant, to Mom): I’ll pay for this dinner, since you know, you’re my girlfriend 😉 (He takes out his credit card and starts punching numbers into the machine.) Why isn’t it working? Declined? Declined??!

Mom: You got your pin number wrong.

Dad: Pin number? I don’t have a pin number….

Mom: Yes, you do. All credit cards have pin numbers now!

Dad: ………

Mom: -.- Here, just pay cash. Here, take this. (She hands the waiter a $100.)

Dad (flipping through his wallet and talking to the waiter): I’m embarrassed. I didn’t even know I had a pin! […] Oh, I could have used this other card!

Tina: If you were really on a first date, the girl would not be impressed. She would think that you were trying to stick the bill on her.

(In the elevator in my building.)

Michael (pointing to the sign inside): Dad! It says “Maximum 1500 lbs! Get off!”

Dad: Oh grow up.

Now for those of you who know me, you will probably find this next part especially funny because this is exactly what I do too!

(The family is walking on the street. We pass a griller lying by the curb.)

Dad: Woah, look at this griller! It’s so new! It’s so good!

Mom: We have one of those at home.

Dad: Yeah, but when I bought it years ago, it was 100$!

Mom: We don’t need another one! Especially when Tina and I are vegetarians!

Dad: WELL, I didn’t say I actually WANT it. I was just saying that it’s so new!

Mom: Why would you bring it up if you didn’t actually want it?

Dad: I was just saying!

(In the car)

(Dad while driving, reaches over with one hand and holds Mom’s hand)

Michael (staring at them): What? Are you guys dying or something?

Mom: What??! Why would you say that?!

Michael: Because in movies, when the husband reaches over to and holds his wife’s hand in the car, it usually means that they’re going to die next.

(The family laughs.)

Ma and Pa

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2012 2:52 am

    The interaction between your mom and your dad on the subject of the grill reminds me of how i would react if that happened to us! LOL

Trackbacks

  1. PPILOVE (most): Papa | Through My Glasses

Leave a Reply

