Skip to content

Funny Women

June 7, 2012

I have always found it particularly amusing to watch women engage with each other. Whether it’s watching a group of teenage girls talking about a boy or a group of older women joking about their husbands, I always observe with a smirk on my face. I can’t help it! It just amuses me so.

Anyway, today, I couldn’t help but have that all too familiar smirk on my face as I observed my mother talking to her girl friends. First, they talked about what they would do if they won the lottery. They went on and on for so long that their fantasies were getting a little ridiculous; I wanted to remind them that their odds of winning (because it was a pooled ticket) was 4/608281864034267560872252163321295376887552831379210240000000000. But I didn’t say anything and kept on observing.

That was when my mother said something rather amusing. She was joking of course, but nonetheless, it was still smirk-worthy.

Mom (to her friends): You know what I was thinking? I was thinking that it’s so easy for you to change your mind. Even if you don’t think you’ll ever change your mind about one specific thing, you actually never know that for sure! Something better may come along. For example, when I bought that brand of soya sauce with the Ox on the front, I thought, “Wow, this is delicious. I am never going to buy any other kind of Soya Sauce again. Not even if other people recommend better ones”. BUT hey, look! A new brand came out and I tried it, and loved it! Just a couple of days ago, I went everywhere in Chinatown and couldn’t find it. So you know what I did? I drove all the way up to North York and bought 15 bottles from that Supermarket up there. So anyway, I was staring at those soya sauce bottles today and it hit me that better things can come along. So maybe, even though you think your husband is the “perfect one”… maybe a better one will come along one day….

Then she and the girls shared a snicker and proceeded to the topic of dating. Let’s just say that there was an analogy between “trying a guy on for size” and not being able to taste the soya sauce until after you’ve bought it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

