Skip to content

Twitcher

July 4, 2012

It has come to my attention that a couple of things happen pretty quickly when I am embarrassed or unwanted attention is on me.

1) My cheeks turn instantly red and I’m burning up so much that it feels as though I’m tanning on a beach.

2) My face starts to twitch. I’m not joking – my whole face starts to twitch! Concurrently, I always seem to be smiling. Smiling at what, I don’t know. But I always seem to be smiling. Actually, it’s bigger than “smiling”. It’s more like opening my mouth very widely; remember, all this is going on while my face is twitching. So what I end up looking like is a creepy person with something creeping going on on her face.

3) To keep my twitching and smiling under control, I’ve noticed that I tend to bite on my lower left lip. I used to think that the lip biting was pretty subtle, but I have a picture that disproves it!

I’ve noticed that the above three take place when

1) I am answering a question in a class full of people who don’t know me;

2) unwanted attention (though positive) is on me;

and/or

3) I am talking to a boy.

2/3 of the above happened to me today. And you know what’s strange? I didn’t even want to talk to the boy! He started talking to me! But still, I got all twitchy like I normally do. Oh well, I guess it’s something that I’ll have to live with for the rest of my life.

(see pictures below for the evolution of my “twitching face” at my high school graduation.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

