Skip to content

The Absolutely Amazing Spiderman

July 7, 2012

4.5/5 stars!

Yesterday evening, I went with my family to watch “The Amazing Spiderman” in Ultra AVX 3D at Yorkdale Mall.

I was skeptical about watching this movie. After all, a remake of the Maguire version? Really? Was a remake really necessary? I had thought that the Macguire version was pretty good itself. Every time I saw Maguire in the tabloids, I thought Spiderman! But then again, I had watched that long ago, at a time when my artistic criticism hadn’t set in yet.

The Amazing Spiderman!

The Amazing Spiderman is truly amazing. The basic story line is still there: Parker’s parents die, he lives with Aunt May and Uncle Ben, Parker purposely doesn’t stop a robber, the robber kills Uncle Ben, Parker uses his spidey powers to find the robber to extract revenge, some scientist gets an overdose of power and becomes a monster, Parker stops monster. Oh and I forgot, Parker falls in love with a girl.

But the difference between this movie and the Maguire version is unmistakable. First of all, there is a twist in the story line. Parker (Andrew Garfield) is in high school and instead of falling for “the girl next door”, Mary Jane (Kirsten Dunst), he has his eyes on the girl who sits next to him in class, Gwen Stacy (Emma Stone). Whereas Dunst played the female lead as being coy, mysterious, and “womanly”, Stone, on the other hand, plays it as being cute, sensible, and girly. Which one did I like better? I’d have to say Stone’s version.

Another reason why I was skeptical about watching this movie was because of the actors. I had known Garfield from The Social Network and Stone from Easy A. Let’s just say that neither movies were on my list of “Movies to Remember”. Though both movies had interesting story lines, I found that it was lacking in the acting department. But the actors did had a 180 spin in this movie.

Garfield’s acting was believable, charming, and even captivating. He really was just the “average boy” who was gifted with this amazing superpower. (Whereas in the Maguire version, I found that he played it as “I am SPIDERMAN. I’m going to make everyone pay for their mistakes”; in other words, there was an evil “grown-up” edge to the way he played Spiderman.) Stone was great in this movie. She was endearing, and wide-eyed in love. This version was more along the lines of: “These two kids love each other for who they really are, and oh look, Parker also happens to be Spiderman”, whereas the Maguire version was more: “Superhero saves girl and she falls in love with him”. I’m not saying that the Maguire version sucked; I’m saying that the Garfield version seems more relatable, down to earth. The Maguire version was good too – these movies just have different merits.

The twist of the story line goes beyond the setting change, but that’s something you’ll have to see for yourself. Another thing I found that was excellent was the picture itself. The animation was superb – things looked more alive in this movie than in the Maguire version; this was really a superhero movie. (However, there was nothing special in the 3D department.)

With a cast consisting of: Andrew Garfield (The Social Network), Emma Stone (The Help), Sally Field (Mrs. Doubtfire), Campbell Scott (Dying Young), Martin Sheen (Catch Me If You Can), Rhys Ifans (Notting Hill), and Denis Leary (Ice Age), how could you ever go wrong?

I give this movie a 4.5/5. Please go watch the movie and tell me what you thought of it!

PS. Please see the comment I left below.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2012 3:29 pm

    The film was good but still is it really worth of 4.5/5? Don’t think so. This film while quite fun was nowhere near perfect.
    Just curious, have you seen Nolan’s Batman series?

    • July 7, 2012 3:39 pm

      I have! I love Christopher Nolan. Actually, I debated about whether I should have given it a 4 or 4.5. But I’m usually very generous with my ratings. I think 4 might have been more appropriate, but considering how I had given a 3.5 to “A Dangerous Method”, I thought that this movie was at least 1.0 better than the other! You were right though; comparing this to The Avengers, I think this deserves a 4 and the Avengers a 4.5!

      PS. I am also quite excited for the last Batman movie to come out!

  2. July 10, 2012 7:52 am

    Yeah, me too. Hope, it’ll show The Avengers it’s place. 😛 Nice blog by the way.

Leave a Reply

