Skip to content

PPLILOVE: Stephanie Young

November 8, 2012

Here is a taste of the relaunch of my blog!

(People I Love is a monthly segment in which I feature one person who is near and dear to my heart.)

The Person I Love in November is… Stephanie Young.

Beautiful Stephanie Young is filling out her PPLILove Profile card! (November 2012)

Stephanie Young is my best friend and has been my BF ever since that fateful first day of high school. I, being the awkward girl who was so happy that she had just got her braces removed two days ago, was smiling so brightly at anyone passing by that they must

have thought I was crazy. Stephanie, of course, was the girl in the sporty shorts who was the kind of gal that was attracted to people with big smiles (especially to boys with big smiles). But of course, she would ultimately settle for me, who would forever be the only one true love of her life, despite what her current boyfriend thinks.

Needless to say, from the very beginning, we were like two peas in a pod.

Stephanie and I go even further back than the first day of high school; we actually first met each other in grade seven. But during grade seven and eight, I only knew Stephanie as the girl who giggled at everything and the girl who once accepted a pretty “interesting” dare for a reward of $2. Stephanie probably knew me as the weird girl who each month, had different colour elastics on her braces.

Despite never having any classes together, we made it work by spending our lunches together. Of course, the lunch dates grew sparse as we grew older and I became more involved in extracurriculars. They would still grow even more sparse when I would ultimately go off to university in the fall of 2010. But that didn’t stop us from having our phone dates!

“So he said, ‘I think you’re cute’. And I said, ‘You’re so sweet!”. And he said, ‘I-‘ HELLO? HELLO? ARE YOU STILL THERE STEPH? (Click, click.) Crap”

(Bring, bring, bringgggg)

“What happened?”

Stephanie: “Hehehehehehehehehehhehehehehhehehe. My phone died.”

“Typical.”

Both girls: “Hehehehehehehehehehehehehehehehehehe.”

This just about sums up our relationship…. (14 years old 2006/2007)

In Anne’s Shirley’s terms, Stephanie Young would certainly be a “Kindred Spirit”. She is my Diana and I fancy the thought that I am her Anne. (Actually, I fancy the thought that I am everyone’s Anne.) She is kind and certainly funny! I would say that she is the most loyalist of friends. She is the one person who I do not have to hold back with; I can literally tell her anything and not be afraid that she would 1) spill her guts out to somebody else and 2) overanalyze what I had to say. What’s more, she is non-judgmental and has such a caring heart. Sometimes, I don’t think she gives herself enough credit for these wonderful traits she possesses! She is just too damn humble for her own good.

I think that’s why we work so well together. She’s humble, I’m narcissistic…. 🙂 When we get together, it’s just a frenzy of non-stop talking and giggling. I talk so much when I’m with her that I’ve started to notice that I get all sinus-y/phlegmy whenever I’m with her; I’ve realized that it’s because I actually forget to swallow my spit when I’m talking to her non-stop. The spit builds up and well… it’s in the back of the throat, in that area that is connected to my nose…. Gross right?

Somehow, we just never run out of things to talk about. She’s always there when I need her and she knows that I’m always here when she needs me. We are truly BFFs – best friends forever.

18 years old – Summer 2011

Back when I was fifteen, I used to keep “People Profiles” in my diary; basically, I would write down one page of thoughts for each person in my life. I got tired of doing this after a while…. But anyway, creepiness aside, here is what I had to say about Steph on February 26th, 2008:

Person #10: Stephanie Young

Stephanie is an amazing person. I can’t possibly explain all the good times I’ve had with her. We’ve had too many. Stephanie is currently my best friend and I believe that if we never get separated, we will always stay that way. It’s like our personalities just click, you know? When I’m around her, I always laugh. I just can’t possibly explain how much she means to me. I’ve known her since grade seven, but never have we been so close. It’s like she’s my silver lining in this dreadful world! I know she’d do anything for me! And I know I’d do the same. Anyway, I just wanted to say that Stephanie means the world to me. Really. You know if I had to trade all of the friends I have in the world for her, I’d do it. She’s the kind of person who would always stick by you no matter what. I really hope we grow old together and attend each other’s wedding. I don’t know what I would do without her. I don’t even know where I would be if I didn’t have Steph!

My favourite part of all of that was: “It’s like she’s my silver lining in this dreadful world!” Gosh I was always dramatic. I also really liked how I said “grow old together and attend each other’s wedding” – almost like I thought there was a causal connection between the two…. Ah, but who knows, we’ll probably end up as spinsters. Actually, the chances of that happening are greater for me than for Steph… because Stephanie Young is just awesome!

14 years old – Summer 2007

18 years old – Summer 2011

Steph in Old Montreal (19 years old – Summer 2012)

Steph sucks at taking photos (Late August 2012)

PS. Don’t forget to tune in tomorrow!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Steph permalink
    November 8, 2012 6:46 pm

    I’m giggling like crazy in the school library. Ugh. You always do this to me.
    By the way, it’s more like:
    “When we get together, it’s just a frenzy of TINA non-stop talking and STEPHANIE giggling.”
    You never let me say anything.
    But that’s fine, I love you.

    Forever your silver lining,
    Steph

Trackbacks

  1. PPLILOVE: Nadia Lampkin | Through My Glasses
  2. BFFLove | Through My Glasses

Leave a Reply

