Skip to content

On Being Sick

December 18, 2012

Being sick isn’t as much fun as it used to be.

Remember those good ol’ days when being sick meant that you didn’t have to go to school, and that you could miss that nasty math test? Back then, all it took for a fun day at home was for me to wake up with a “sore throat.” Back then, a “sick” day meant I didn’t have to worry about my chores; or make sure my brother was staying out of trouble; or get my own food; or feel guilty about lying in bed, watching tv all day.

Nowadays, being sick means a sentence in bed for 24+ hours with the added bonus of having a hot flash every 30 minutes. Of course, when you’re young, there were tons of things that were waiting to be watched on tv. When you’re older, that number gets cut down  by 75%. 50%, you’ve already watched and the other 25% just doesn’t interest you anymore. The remaining 25%, though, is realistically more like 10% because your older self no longer has the patience and “youtubing skills” your younger self once had. So now, with only 10% of worth-watching material out there, you find yourself lying in bed yelling out in vain, “I’m so bored!!!!!!!”

Anyway, that was basically my life for the past three days.

Saturday, I was feeling a little cough-y, but I decided that I needed to get out of the house. After all, Saturdays were my “adventure” days – days when I would go out exploring, settle somewhere, and write. So despite the chilly weather, I went out anyway. It was awesome. I found a cafe and ate soup while I read Dickens’s A Christmas Carol. All clad out in my grey turtle neck sweater, forest-coloured cardigan, blue jeans, and wearing burgundy lipstick, I felt like such a grown up! Afterwards, I went to the Starbucks in the Indigo in Yorkville and wrote letters to people.

But sunday morning was when it hit me – the virus I mean. After lunch, I returned home and fell asleep. I literally slept, and slept, and slept.

I could not bear to go to school and teach on Monday, so I called in sick. My voice was so raspy that no matter how much I tried to clear my throat, I still ended up sounding like a croaking frog. But Monday wasn’t that bad; in fact, it was kind of awesome. I watched the first half of season 1 of Cougartown (btw, what a good show!), a documentary on the Holocaust, Gone with the Wind (the most epic movie I have ever watched), read, and even managed to take an afternoon nap. I finished the night off by ordering some stuff off Amazon. Monday was not so bad.

Monday night, I decided that I didn’t want to take my chances and go outside; after all, I didn’t want to get worse before getting better. I decided that Tuesday, I was going to stay home again. I mean, I wouldn’t mind repeating Monday.

But today, I discovered that day 2 of staying in bed and watching t.v. all day isn’t as fun as it is on day 1. Nope – just not as much fun.

I started the day off with some reading, which was nice. Then I finished watching season 1 of Cougartown (again, it was awesome). Then I had lunch, took my meds, and then decided that I didn’t feel like lying in bed. So I turned on my radio, danced for a bit in my jammies, and then moved on to organizing my bookshelves and sorting through the sweaters on my clothing rack (from most wearable to least wearable, of course). After, I rummaged through my boxes of keepsakes from the first two years of university and put them all into a big Tupperware bin. That got me to 1:32 p.m. Then, after not having anything else left to do – well, I did have things to do, I just didn’t feel like doing them – I fell onto my bed and yelled out in vain, “I’m so bored!!!!!!!!”

Afterwards, I let out a sigh of resignation and watched a couple episodes of Seinfeld. But after doing that for a bit, I got bored again. At one point, I was literally just lying on my bed, in the dark, thinking, “What should I do now?”

It was like a scene from Home Alone. Imagine me dancing around the house and prancing around in my flannel nightgown. Oh yah, I even forgot to mention how I discovered a mysterious wrapped gift under the Christmas tree this morning.

Gift under Tree

It took everything in me to resist the urge of ripping that package apart, take a peak at what was inside, and then rewrap it. That was definitely one thing I learned from watching That’s So Raven in the old days(see clip below).

Needless to say, I will be returning to school tomorrow to teach, even though there are only 3 more days until the winter break.

You know, I just don’t get it. When we’re busy, we always say, “I wish I had nothing to do!” But when we have nothing to do, we always say, “I wish I had something to do!”

What do we really want??!

Even as a 10-year-old I understood this complex work-play problem that all humans face (see photograph below).

Dear Dairy

I find this entry so funny considering how I spelt “Diary” as “Dairy.” Clearly, I’ve always been fond of milk, yogurt, and eggs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

