Skip to content

12:01 a.m.

December 31, 2012
It's not a New Year's Resolutions list; it's a To Do list. There is a difference!

It’s not a New Year’s Resolutions list; it’s a To Do list. There is a difference!

Can you believe it’s January 1st in less than 5 hours? Isn’t it weird how millions, perhaps even billions of people look forward to tomorrow so much? What makes it any different than today? Or yesterday? Or any other day for that fact? Why is it that on this day, we look forward to tomorrow more than usual?
Weird.
I guess tomorrow, it all starts again. Tomorrow: a new day, a new month, a new year.
And a new haircut! (Click here for more details.)
Some important things that I have learned this year (I think I will make this list a tradition from now on):
  • From what I’ve observed from the opposite sex: you always want what you can’t have.
  • There is always a way out of things. Always. This I learned from personal experience and Spartacus, the Thracian gladiator.
  • The best things in life come when you least expect it. Cue 20th!
  • Nothing with value ever turns out the way we plan.
  • Real life can sometimes be ever better than imagination.
  • It is important to listen to that inner voice.
  • “It is impossible to wake a man who pretends to be sleeping.” Thank you Jonathan Saffran Foer and Chinese proverb.
  • It is important not to eat animals, especially those that are factory farmed.
  • Trees are one of the most beautiful things Mother Nature has created. I’ve developed such a love for trees over this past year.
  • Teaching is one of the most fulfilling jobs you can ever have. Having 70 students is like having 70 children.
To you, my readers, I wish you all the best in the new year. May all of your dreams come true. Thank you for finding my life amusing, interesting, or what have you; it is wonderful to know that the ideas in my mind are transformed into words and are reaching the ears, eyes, and minds of others.
And with that, I would like to leave you with my most favourite New Year song. (I know it’s kind of morbid, but it’s my favourite. Just focus on the chorus people!) Happy 2013 every body!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

