Skip to content

Girl, Your Mind is a Wonderland.

February 11, 2013

I woke up this morning feeling quite lazy and tired. After all, I really hadn’t slept well the night before. This morning, I rolled around a bit and decided that instead of walking to school today, I was just going to take the subway. I had only taken the subway to school once before – the day that I was too sick and it was too mucky outside. It was actually kind of nice. Riding the train at 9:30 in the morning, when the morning rush is over, is actually quite peaceful. Unfortunately, it wasn’t that peaceful today.

At around 9:20 a.m., I plugged my earbuds in and stepped outside. I scrolled down the “Recently Added” playlist and tapped on “On My Own” sung by Samantha Barks from the movie version of Les Misérables. This song is one of my favourites from the movie. (By the way, have I mentioned how much I LOVED the movie? AZ and I went to watch it together; while she was dozing off beside me, I was crying and crying and crying… and well, you get the point. It felt like there were onions every where and no windows around to breeze it out. Thank goodness it was dark in the theatres because I was definitely ugly-crying if you know what I mean. Honestly, it was like every song, BAM cue waterworks. I’m just too emotional for my own good.)

Imagination is such a wonderful thing.

Imagination is such a wonderful thing.

Whenever I go for walks that are longer than 20 minutes, I always love listening to songs from musicals. I like to pretend that life is a musical, and that I’m that girl who is MADLY in love with that boy who has majorly friend-zoned her (obviously channeling Eponine here – actually, that’s pretty much my life). Other times, I like to imagine that I am this beautiful angel-like creature who has a voice only heaven knows and is being pursued by a phantom who roams the halls of an opera house (when does that actually happen in real life?). Some people ask me why I like to walk every where, rain or shine. They just don’t know that my walks take me on a magical, musical adventure. They just don’t know that my mind is a wonderland. 

It always sucks when I arrive at my destination because that means bye bye imaginary fairy tale world and hello to dear old reality where words are spoken, not sung.

Anyway, the song of the morning was “On My Own.” Usually, I turn off my music as soon as I get into class, but today, I was pretty early, so I decided to sit in the lecture hall with my earbuds nicely secured. It was awesome. As I mouthed the words to “On My Own”, I turned my laptop on and started reading the homepage of the Toronto Star. Just another morning in the life of Tina Ta.

First, I read about how Canada was considering putting “Gays and Black Hockey Players on Plastic Bank Notes,” which was unfortunately ultimately rejected. Then I read about how this woman in Scarborough was charging 11 people $700/month EACH to live all under one roof. She even wrote a note on the door that said, “Do not open the door for anyone! If the City of Toronto people get in, they will vacate the house.” Uh, can you say sketchy or what? Following that article, I read about people going out to Lake Ontario and skating on it. I thought that was pretty sweet and wondered why I didn’t do that this weekend. After this, I read about Pope Benedict’s announcement of his resignation due to his failing health. Did you know that such an announcement hasn’t be made since the Middle Ages (15th century)?

THEN, I came across this: “Greatest Love Stories.” The title alone was enough to get me to forget about plastic bank notes, illegal housing operations, wholesome skating stories, and the Pope (sorry).

As I was reading through the titles and pulling up movie/imaginary scenes from my memory, I couldn’t stop grinning like an idiot. Like I’m talking about grinning wider than I usually do in the class with the Professor with whom I’m totally in love (no I’m not going to tell you which class it is!). I was actually way too excited/happy reading this article . I started giggling when I read a mushy line like:

Part of the appeal is the romantic notion of being swept away, says family therapist Phillis Willer. “We want someone to buy that last-minute plane ticket and come after us, even though that’s not reality for most people,” says Willer.

Uh DUH. I would die if I was in a Ross-and-Rachel situation (as in the season’s finale when she gets off the plane.)

Whoever made this collage is awesome. Totally making this my desktop wallpaper.... Kidding!

Whoever made this collage is awesome. Totally making this my desktop wallpaper…. Kidding!

Then when I read this, I thought, so true man, so true:

… 17th-century French writer La Rochefoucauld, who said, “True love is like ghosts, which everybody talks about and few have seen.”

Okay, so the article wasn’t that funny. In fact, it wasn’t supposed to be funny at all. I just couldn’t stop laughing. Why not? Well, for one thing, I’m always amusing myself with weird funny thoughts (see this post about that). Of course, I’m always giggling and squirming when I read about sappy love-y, dove-y things. BUT what actually got me the most was here I was, in this big lecture hall with students all around me, reading about the “Greatest Love Stories” with Valentine’s Day coming up, and I’m listening to a song called, “On My Own.” Can you say scene right out of a rom-com? Imagine a girl in her Winnie-the-Pooh nightgown, trying to channel Scarlett O’Hara while she watches “Gone with the Wind” on a Friday night. Yep, that’s me.

Anyway, I thought that all was so incredibly ironic-funny.

And as I continued to scroll through the list of “Greatest Love Stories”, I heard Samantha Barks singing, “On my own… pretending he’s beside me….”

All I can say is ELLE-OH-ELLE.

OK. Enough. I’ve got to go study for the “Haydn and Mozart” midterm that I have on Wednesday.

Ugh, all I want to do is walk around in my garden singing “Hopelessly devoted to you.” But I guess that’s not realistic considering how there is a metre of snow on the back porch.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 12, 2013 2:03 am

    That was an excellent post today. Thanks so much for sharing it. I
    really enjoyed reading it very much. You have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

