Skip to content

Mr. Romantic

March 8, 2013

At 11:35 p.m.  last Wednesday, I bounded out of my Greek class with a smile on my face. The midterm, I thought, had gone very well. The morning wasn’t an especially beautiful one, but who cares? I could hear the birds singing even though they weren’t (I’m not crazy; I was just really happy).

I whistled and hummed and smiled and laughed as I made my way to my next class. That was when something caught my attention. When I saw it, I could not help but throw my head back and laugh out loud!

Searching for Anne

After this initial sighting, I kept seeing the signs everywhere: on more signs like the above, on buildings, and on poles! Yesterday, I was standing at a corner, waiting for the light to turn green, when I saw another one of these just screaming out to me: “ANNE R!” Honestly, the guy is committed.

Finding Anne

IMG_1386

IMG_1387

I sent all of these photos to my girl friends, and we all shared an “awwwwww” with an undertone of “We wish this would happen to us.” Then I showed these pictures to one of my guy friends who said he thought it was creepy.

“Really?” I had said.

“Yeah. That’s just creepy man,” he said.

“I don’t think so! I think it’s so endearing! So enamouring!”

“Where did he even get the 68% from? Well what’s the dividing line between endearing and creepy?”

“Well, I don’t know. I guess it just depends on the girl. Or well, just the act of placing signs all over campus is so romantic. This guy is going above and beyond! Honestly, if a guy did this for me, I would DIE.”

At this remark, he snickered.

“I mean really! He went to all of that trouble to make the signs and then to put them up around campus. Nobody does that anymore!”

“Yeah they do.”

“Where??”

“Well, they contact people through Facebook.”

“Well, I don’t have Facebook!”

“Well he’s probably like you and doesn’t have Facebook. That’s probably why he posted the signs up.”

“Well, no matter the reason, I think it’s perfectly charming.”

“Where did he get the 68% from?”

“You don’t get it. The 68% line is gold.”

That’s pretty much how the conversation went. He thought it was creepy; I thought it was endearing. I mean, the gesture is just so romantic! But I guess it really depends on the girl and how she feels towards the guy. If she doesn’t like the guy, he will indeed be read as creepy, which is unfortunate. Girls, we’re so unpredictable. We say one thing, but we really mean another.

I honestly can’t imagine any boy doing this. Boys are an entirely different species. Seriously. I can’t ever imagine a boy being romantic or charming (maybe that’s because all of my guy friends act like monkeys…. HAHA. Just joking). Honestly, this stuff only happens in the movies! At one point, I even entertained the thought that this might be some elaborate social experiment conducted by a lab on campus to see how many people would reply. I mean, it could be. But probably not. Hey, that would be a good experiment to conduct…. I think I will do something like this in the summer.

Serendipity (2001)This whole thing reminds me of the movie Serendipity (2001) with John Cusack and Kate Beckinsale. I don’t think I have ever watched such a ridiculously sappy movie – an ridiculously unrealistic sappy movie. I mean, I’m one for sappy movies, but this movie was just ridiculous. Ten minutes into the movie, I was already shaking my fist and shouting out, “REALLY?? REALLY?” I mean he says something along the lines of “I think I’m falling in love with you” ten minutes into the movie. I’m not even joking. When does that ever happen in real life?? Now a more realistic movie would be something like Sleepless in Seattle (1993).

Well, I hope Mr. Romantic finds Anne R. It’ll be kind of tragic if he never finds her. I’m sure Cusack would have found Beckinsale faster if he had just put up signs all over New York.

I think I’m going to send an e-mail to Mr. Romantic with a subject line that reads, “Did You Find Her??” with the link to this post attached. I’ll keep y’all updated.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

