Skip to content

5 Things You Can Do/Not Do to Save the Planet

April 25, 2013

Okay, so I know that Earth Day is “over,” but then again, Earth Day should never be over. Earth Day should be every day! The earth is our home, and we should be consciously taking steps to maintain it and make it a better place for not just us humans but also for all creatures.

I am a big lover of all things nature — like I’m talking tree-hugging, vegan, extreme-recycler hippy. Wow, I didn’t realize how nature-loving I am until I just read that sentence out loud. Last summer, I used to go around reciting this limerick I thought up; it went a little something like: (leaving aside the fact that Mars could one day be an inhabitable planet)

Without the earth, humans would die

Without humans, the earth would thrive

I think the exact wording I had last summer was better, but you get the message. But anyway, I wasn’t always this way. I used to be the girl who would sit on a field and pick at grass because I was bored. Now I’m the girl who watches her step because she doesn’t want to trample on those beautiful, delicate flowers. I used to be the girl who dropped my gum-wrapper on the ground because I couldn’t find the garbage can. Now I’m that girl who gives stink eyes to people who put paper-cups into the garbage can. I used to be that person who took the bus everywhere because I was too lazy to walk. Now I’m that girl who walks everywhere (although part of the reason for walking everywhere is not because I’m trying to be extra eco-friendly but actually because I’m super cheap…).

Self explanatory....

Self explanatory….

The first time I started giving any real attention to the planet was when I was ten. I was sitting in the car with my dad at an intersection, waiting for the light to change. That was when I saw a guy, in the next car over, roll down his window and throw out a whole ice-cream wrapper. I mean it was a giant popsicle stick with napkins and plastic wrapping all crumpled up into this colossal mess that now lay lifelessly in the middle of the road. Just imagine the horror when I saw this guy fling this thing out of his window; I’m just surprised it didn’t end up on someone else’s windshield.

I remember exactly what my dad said: “Look at that guy. Some people. Pfff.” After that day, I swore that I would never throw an ice-cream wrapper out my car window.

There are so many simple things you can do to help preserve our beautiful planet. But if you’re lazy, and you don’t feel like doing things, then that’s fine too. You don’t have to do anything; just don’t do certain things.

5 Things You can Do/Not Do to Save the Planet:

1. DON’T waste. DO recycle.

Use scrap paper or opt for writing on both sides of the paper (you have no idea HOW many people I’ve seen writing only on ONE side of the paper). I mean you don’t have to be be recycle-crazy like I am (I once went through all the unused permission forms of 1000 high school students and ripped off the staples so that I could save them for scrap paper. Three years later, I still have scrap paper.) Single space instead of double spacing. Use a traveller’s mug instead of getting coffee in a paper-cup. Use glass instead of plastic. The list goes on and on. Reduce, reuse, recycle, compost! Besides, think how much money you’ll be saving with all of the reducing and reusing. Just imagine how much it would cost you if you never used the same shower towel twice — that you always threw your towel out instead of washing it. Think about how much money that would cost you! Well, multiply that amount by 372 times* and that’s how much it’s costing mother nature every time you don’t reduce, reuse, recycle, and compost.

And don’t even get me started on people who do this:

Don't be this person.

Don’t be this person. (You have no idea how many times I’ve reached into the garbage to correct people’s mistakes. It’s disgusting, but I have to do it.)

I mean the recycling isn't THAT far away from the garbage! Is it? I wonder if more people will recycle the compartment was next to the garbage compartment. But then again, people might just start throwing trash into the recycling.

This picture was taken in a university library. Given that I have found numerous paper-products in the trash, I am starting to question people’s ability to read… which is bad considering this is university.

or this:

The recycling compartment isn't even full!

The recycling compartment isn’t even full!

2. DON’T litter. DO dipose properly.

I mean, this is fairly obvious. People litter because they are just plain lazy, but seriously, that’s just inconsiderate. Not only are you being inconsiderate towards me and the 7 other billion people living on this planet (and to the 7 billion potential beings on this planet), you’re being inconsiderate to mother nature and the animals that call everything-outside-of-your-house their home. The other day, I saw a bird flying with a streamer attached to its leg; it must have gotten stuck there somehow. I crossed the road to try to do something about it — maybe detach it somehow, but then the bird flew away. I was just disgusted. Most people live in non-garbage-filled homes. I think birds (and other animals) deserve to live in a non-garbage filled home too. Don’t you?

3. DON’T drive. DO walk.

That’s easy enough right? Just walk to places; lots of things aren’t too far away. But if things aren’t walking-distance, then ride — ride your bike. But if things aren’t biking distance, then so be it: drive then.

4. DON’T kill just for fun.

Sounds easy right? I mean after all, only 1% of us are psychopaths. But no. 4 is harder than it sounds. Let’s face it: we’ve all been culprits of running through our aunt’s petunias and pulling out dandelions from the grass. But every time we do that, a life dies. Instead, plant flowers! Water your plants! Admire the trees.

I mean look at this tree! All of the branches stick up at a 90 degrees angle -- straight up to the sky. Isn't that peculiar? But oh so beautiful?

I mean look at this tree! All of the branches stick up at a 90 degrees angle — straight up to the sky. Isn’t that peculiar? But oh so beautiful?

5. DO eat your fruits and veggies.

By eating more fruits and veggies, you will have less room in your stomach for animals, and if you have less room in your stomach for animals, you will be reducing your carbon footprint by a ton. Click here and here if you don’t believe me. I’m not asking you to become a vegan/vegetarian — although that would be nice, just up your intake of fruits and veggies. And the awesome thing about eating your fruits and veggies (other than saving animals and the planet and pleasing your mother of course) is that you’ll have beautiful skin.**

Vegetable Tofu Salad = Lunch!

Vegetable Tofu Salad = Lunch!

*This was an arbitrary number. The point is, just multiply by a large number.

**Results may vary, as although I have been a vegetarian for a while now and drink about 4-5L of water a day, I still have horrible acne. Sigh….

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2013 6:57 pm

    I like your subject matter and writing style, if you would like to get more exposure for your writing, we would love to have you be a contributor at THE GOOD WORD. Yes I am a real person and you can call me to discuss if you like at 203-994-3950 email steve@thegoodword.me or go to our site at http://www.thegoodword.me/about/submit-article/ Have an awesome day! – Steve

  2. April 27, 2013 4:24 am

    Great post anne-of-green-gables! Also love the blog title… and the tree hugging picture made me smile!

  3. May 11, 2013 7:37 am

    Its not my first time to pay a quick visit this web page,
    i am browsing this site dailly and get pleasant data from here
    everyday.

Trackbacks

  1. Don’t Be Silly! Nobody is Raping Mother Earth!!!! | I AM TOM NARDONE

Leave a Reply

