Skip to content

Lazy Days and Dancing Nights

May 6, 2013

What a nice, relaxing day today has been. I spent the morning teaching at the high school, and boy was it enjoyable! It was my first day back since leaving in early January, and I had anticipated it with great excitement. Nothing has changed; I still want to go into teaching as much as I did back in December.

First period was spent “assisting” one of the teachers in prepping for his classes. In teacher lingo, this means photocopying. Second period was spent in grade nine French; most of it consisted of shhh-ing the kids and making sure they stayed off the sidewalks when we took a walk around the neighbourhood, trying to identify things en français. Finally, lunch came, and I chaired the meeting of the school’s blogging club.

But this post isn’t about what I did today. It’s about what happened to me.

Kids rushed me at the classroom door and exclaimed, “You’re back?? Where were you??” At lunch, I had a pleasant conversation with a grade 12 student. She told me that she had gotten accepted to UBC with the personal statement I helped her write back in December. To hear that made my heart swell. It was like that time last Thursday when I went into the school at 7 p.m. to hear the kids play in the Spring concert. As I sat in the crowd, I couldn’t help but smile brightly. I was so incredibly proud of those students — those who could barely play a few bars of notes back in October but were now playing two whole pieces in front of an auditorium full of people. To see how nervous they were made it extra exciting to watch them. Honestly, it’s like every day that I discover more and more how much I want to be a teacher — how excited I am to become a teacher!

Anyway, that was my morning. I decided to come home for lunch and made a mental note that I would leave the house again at 2 p.m. to go out and read/write. That didn’t happen.

After lunch, I got a little lazy. Well, okay, I got a lot lazy. I told myself that I would clean my room for a bit and then head out into the backyard and write. What a wonderful idea! I had thought. Well, the backyard thing didn’t end up happening either. Instead, I cleaned, and then I got tired. I laid in bed and watched Friends and then fell half asleep. I wasn’t fully asleep, but I wasn’t awake enough to know what was going on between Chandler and Monica either. My brother came home briefly at 3:30 p.m. and that’s when I decided that it was time to be proactive.

But then I thought, hey, I haven’t had a lazy day in for ever. It’s summer! Seriously. I can do anything I want right now, and I want to be lazy…. So that’s what I’m going to do. 

So instead of going out for a run like I had wanted to do an hour earlier before I fell “asleep” or instead of drawing up that assignment for the grade twelves or instead of working on my Wikipedia project, I stayed in bed and cut words/pictures out of magazines and glued them onto my notebook-turned-agenda. I think it looks mighty spiffy, don’t you?

IMG_2297

IMG_2298

Pretty soon after that, supper arrived. After supper, I did some laundry and painted my nails hot pink. After that, I turned the radio on and danced in my room for an hour. Honestly? Best hour ever.

Sometimes, we just gotta turn the music way up, jump on our bed, and dance the evening away. It’s therapeutic y’know.

To top it all off, my friend texted me and asked me if I would like to go to the bookstore with him this week. Uh, YEAH!

And the song that started all of the dancing:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

