Skip to content

Open for Business

July 18, 2013

It has increasingly become more apparent to me over these past couple of days that when you open yourself up to the world, the world will respond to you.

Being open is such a hard thing for me to do/be, but I’m increasingly learning how to. In fact, I hardly consider myself an “open” person, so when AZ said to me on Monday, “You’re such a free spirit,” I was surprised (leaving aside that I was dancing and singing to Taylor Swift songs on the field at the university). It helps when I don’t have a lot on my plate, and I’m not frantically running around trying to get things done. I’m more willing to be open, and I have fewer things on my mind to keep me from smiling at passers-by and striking up conversations with the person sitting next to me at the café. This past week has just been heavenly, completely stress-free.

I had so much fun this week just relaxing on my own. It was incredible; “me-time” really does recharge your battery. I visited a café everyday and read/wrote. I also managed to schedule in plenty of visits to the bookstore. I must have been so relaxed and “open” this week because the world responded to me with gifts.

On Monday, I was sitting at my neighbourhood Starbucks when a woman came up to me and gave me a drink. She told me that the barista had made her two by accident and asked me if I wanted the extra one. Of course, I agreed!

Tuesday evening was just so lovely that I decided to take a detour on the way home from my favourite café. On that detour, I came across a beautiful tree that gifted me with bubble blowers.

And today, when I was at my favourite bookstore, I came across a three-piece circular cookie tin set. I flipped it this way and that and couldn’t find the price sticker anywhere. I walked up to a sales associate and asked him to do a price check for me. He told me that it was probably just $5 since it was on the sale rack, but he’ll double-check for me anyway. When he came back, he said, “We can do even better. You can have it!” I looked at him incredulously. I must have said, “Awesome!” five times in one breath, but that was really how it felt: awesome. Granted, there was residue from the price sticker that was once on it, but nothing that couldn’t be cleaned off. I smiled at him so brightly and thanked him over and over again. He said, “You’re welcome!” I walked away and ended up in the journal section and started texting all of my friends the wonderful experience I had just had. When I turned around, there was the sales associate again, but this time, he was holding a plastic bag out to me. “So it’s less awkward for you!” I couldn’t believe this guy. I thanked him again, and we had a nice conversation. Actually, it was mostly just me, standing there all smily and girly, telling him how much I would love to work at that bookstore and how I’m such a frequent customer.

photo

Now I have an excuse to bake goodies for people again!

So that has been my week so far. I’m so glad for summer and stress-free days; it makes it easier for me to be open–open to people, open to opportunities, open to the world. The week’s not over yet, and I’m glad. I could use another free cookie tin or two.

photo

photo_2

It’s true: opened eyes + me-time does equal more happiness and positivity. Because when you spend some time on yourself, you will have the remainder of the time to be completely receptive to the world. And when your eyes are open, you’ll be able to see things as they truly are: beautiful.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2013 2:07 am

    Beautiful entry. I try to look at things at a more positive outlook as much as I can too. I hope your string of good vibes continue. 🙂

    • July 19, 2013 8:42 am

      Thank you–that’s wonderfully nice of you to say! And I’m sending you all of my good vibes 🙂

Leave a Reply

