Skip to content

Juxtaposition

August 3, 2013

I forgot how much I love to draw. And I realized today that drawing in ink is best. Because if you make a mistake, or your drawing turns out horribly, you won’t be able to erase it. All you can do is try to fix it. All you can do is try to make the best of it. All you can do is try to make something beautiful out of a disaster.

It’s like that with life, too.

(c) Tina Ta 2013

Tina Ta August 2013

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2013 11:45 pm

    I like your comparison to life. However, I am a “scaredy cat” who hates to err…especially in permanent ink:P So, I cower behind pencils I can hopefully erase. It sickens me how cowardly I can be. I cannot wait for the day when I draw with ink confidence.

    • August 3, 2013 11:51 pm

      Thank you for your wonderful comment! Actually, before today, I would always draw in pencil. Always, always. I’m the kind of person who wants everything to be perfect; for me, drawing doesn’t exactly come naturally, so I always used to have an eraser handy. But I found that it always took such a long time to finish a drawing when I used pencil. I’d constantly be drawing and re-drawing things. Drawing in pen is surprisingly liberating. For me, I think it’s less of a thinking process. Drawing in pencil was always so systematic…. Drawing in pen is almost like free-writing–no thinking involved. And if I make a mistake, I just draw over it. I highly recommend you try it!

      • August 4, 2013 1:42 am

        Me too. I am a horrible perfectionist trying to break that habit. I hear people tell me I am too hard on myself. But, I like to think of it as my only self-discipline. I seem slow or lazy in other areas. I am dealing with many doubts and fears. But, I strive to be the best at what I do. And, if I am not pleased with my results, then why should others be?

        Okay. Fine. You like it. You can have it or pay me whatever. But, for me, I am not fully pleased with it. –That’s typically what I find myself saying.

        I like to think drawing comes naturally because I wasn’t the best at following the steps of others. I consider myself a good student (back in my school days), but not in art. I hated doing still life pictures. I have little to no interest in architecture or technical art. I have too much interest in characters and making statements. I like to make single panel comics and tell stories. I like to make people laugh and think. I tend to work little riddles or puzzles into my work, hoping people will figure out what each bit is saying. I don’t just draw for the sake of drawing…which may be my failing point. If I am to improve with practice, I should be practicing more. Yet, how do people get in enough practice and still be full-time working adults? I think those with the real talent/skills started young and had plenty of support. I wish I could say that. I had people with expectations…and some who might have thrown a few supplies my way. But, my privacy was often violated, and my chosen time to be creative was rarely appreciated.

        I like to go straight to pen when I am doodling. Not when I am seriously drawing something. If I am at a restaurant or sitting somewhere public, I might pen a doodle on a napkin or note card for someone. But, it will likely have its share of errors. Often in perspective.

        People used to harass me about how I used an eraser more than I used the lead of my pencil.

        With a pencil, I can fix part of a circle. With a pen, I am more likely to draw a dented oval.

        I think we’d have fun exchanging doodles. That’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

