Skip to content

Paper Ideas

August 18, 2013

I decided this afternoon that I needed to clean my desk… or well, at least clear some stuff off my desk.

But half-way through, I became distracted by the grey container that has been sitting on the edge of my desk since October. I picked it up, pushed everything on my desk to the side, and emptied the contents of the container onto my tabletop. Out fell all of my ideas, literally.

photo copy 2

I’ve been writing down my thoughts/ideas for as long as I can remember. As you can imagine, the little scraps of paper/napkins pile up quickly. I used to shove them in my drawers, but because they were out of sight, they were always out of mind. Then I started clipping them together and stacking them on the corner of my desk… but then sometimes, I would lose clumps of ideas/thoughts at a time. Finally, when I came home for the year, I resolved to just putting them into a container. I would write down ideas/thoughts on pieces of paper/napkins/etc. and fling them around on my desk. When my work space got too crowded, and I became annoyed, I would take all of those pieces of paper/napkins/etc. and put them into the container. Every once in a while, I would go through the scraps and throw out the ones that no longer made sense or were just weird.

The rest, I would save for a rainy day.

See all of these ideas/thoughts? Multiply that by 100 and that’s how many I have a day.

photo

Somewhere in here is a book waiting to be written.

photo copy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2013 8:56 am

    So many ideas!! Get them together and write that book 😉

    • August 22, 2013 9:05 am

      Ha ha, yes! Trying to! I’m just trying to find a logical connection between all of them, which isn’t working too well. Ha ha.

Leave a Reply

