Skip to content

Happy Birthday Me

September 10, 2013

I woke up this morning to a note on my desk:

Scan-1

Obviously, I love stamps.

And then I realized that I wrote that note to myself before I went to bed last night.

Ha ha.

But I also got a note, which was taped to the fridge this morning, from one of my roommates. It was so sweet.

I also woke up this morning to a few “Happy Birthday!” text messages and one voicemail left by AZ. (AZ’s voicemail was extra nice.) I am so touched. Although there were only a few who remembered, I am extremely touched because they are the few who mattered most to me.

Also, there were two who I was surprised at for remembering my birthday. Not having Facebook (or twitter, etc.) really makes it easy to tell how much I mean to people (and also makes it really easy to communicate to my friends how much they mean to me, which seems backwards, I guess, seeing as how Facebook is suppose to make it easy to “communicate”). Those who care about me always remember my birthday (even if a day or two later).

I was in the shower at around 7:50 a.m. this morning, thinking to myself, I am kind of excited. I didn’t think I would be. I knew today was going to be a rainy day, so I didn’t feel the excitement set in last night — friends know how much I love sunny days and blooming flowers everywhere. My roommates also asked me last night what I would like to do today for my birthday. I told them that I really wasn’t up for anything. I had already done the blowing-out-of-the-candles with my friends from home before I left for Montreal (and boy am I glad that MDN surprised me with that). I really didn’t need another cake/party. I already had one with some of the most wonderful people in the world.

This morning, I was kind of excited because I knew I was going to have some birthday e-mails in my inbox. I was kind of excited because I knew that I was going to “activities night” on campus today and that I would get a bunch of free highlighters and sticky notes (ha ha). I was kind of excited because I was going to Skype tonight with MDN, someone who is so dear to me. I was kind of excited because I knew I was going to have a nice, relaxing night in with just me, myself, and I (my favourite activity in the world).

I was thinking about two hours ago how not-unhappy I am about the dreary weather (although typically I would be). It was a gloriously beautiful day this time last year, but I was miserable. I missed home, I missed my friends, and I hated where I was in my life. I felt truly lost. This year, the glistening, clear blue sky that I know so well is hidden behind monstrous, heavy clouds, but I am very happy with where I am in my life. I feel settled and secure. I have found myself. How different things have become in just 360 days!

And so this year, although the clouds are here and everywhere, I will not let them them rain on my parade, for I am so blessed to have such great friends as you. Here is to another year of excitement!

My favourite e-mail today:

I really believe that it is beneficial to be selfish once in a while, just to do something absolutely for yourself with no thought to anyone else. I think a single act of selfishness enables you to be much more generous and empathetic in the long run. So happy birthday! Do one selfish act! Indulge! It’s your birthday, as you know, as surely you can feel in your bones, the feeling that they are a year older! — My Friend V

I couldn’t agree more.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

