Skip to content

+365

September 25, 2013

At this time last year, I was sitting in an academic advising office waiting to hear whether it was possible for me to leave this school (and city) forever. This day last year, I was balling my eyes out in the last stall of the fourth-floor girl’s bathroom in the Student Society building.

Now I am sitting in the basement of the math building (of the same school), writing this blog post.

So much has happened within the past year; it really does amaze me to think of all the things that have happened and how much I have grown. I am so incredibly grateful.

Now, 365 days later, I am much happier.

A couple of days ago, I thought to myself, Oh wow, September 25th is approaching. Huh, that’ll be weird. But when I woke up this morning, I totally forgot today. I totally forgot about all of the anticipation.

It was only when I was walking on campus, fresh out of my Canadian Prose class, when I was thinking, I really like my Canadian Prose class, and I’m doing so well that the realization came: today is September 25th.

Last year, I hated my courses. This year, I love my courses. I’m pretty stressed, and everything is pretty tough, but I’m making the best of things. I’m getting into ballet again, waking up earlier so I can get work done in the morning, and volunteering as a mentor to children….

Best of all: I’m going home next week. But this time, instead of going home for the year (which was what I did last September 25th), I am only going home for the week-end. Still, I am excited!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

