Skip to content

Autumn Mornings

September 27, 2013

I love waking up early in the morning. Well, I don’t necessarily like the act of waking up early…. I just like being awake early in the morning.

Right now, as I am typing this, certain things are going on in my apartment: the fridge is humming with enthusiasm, the water is drip-drip-dripping in the sink, and (best of all) my roommates are fast asleep.

I crave the tranquility of the early morning: the quietude of life is strikingly apparent.

My cup of morning joe is beside me, and my hair is knotted in several places. I want to shower, but I can’t. The noise of the water running through the pipes will wake up the others.

Since last Thursday (with the exception of Friday and Saturday night, of course), I have been going to sleep at 10:30 p.m. (sometimes 10:45 p.m.) and waking up at 6:15 a.m. or 6:30 a.m. I’d crawl into bed around 9:45 or 10 p.m. and watch an episode of Arrested Development; that’s my favourite activity of the day. I look forward to it as soon as I wake up!

Waking up at 6 in the morning is not as difficult as you think it is. I’m surprised actually. I woke up this morning feeling as refreshed as I would have if I had woken up at 8:30 a.m. Now, I feel like I have all the time in the world and that I don’t have to rush a thing. I’ve already gone through several e-mails, one of which was a delightful letter from someone whom I used to tutor, thanking me for helping her (reading it made my heart melt).

Now, I am blogging. Following this, I need to edit an English paper, and then I will read a book. My mornings are longer, and my nights are shorter, just like how Autumn should be.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

