Skip to content

On the Sunny Side of the Street

May 10, 2014

It’s been a while since I last wrote–I guess you can call it a brief hiatus from writing. It wasn’t that I had nothing to write about. It was just that I didn’t feel like writing.

Why ever not? For the simple reason that there was just too much going on in my life, and I didn’t even know where to start. Actually, let me rephrase that. There wasn’t much going on in my life, but the things that did take place were big things.

I was finishing up school, I was moving away from the place I disliked so much, I was accepted into Teacher’s College….

You can imagine how hard it was for me to process all this especially with my existential crisis (and all) two years ago. Everything was happening so quickly that I needed time to process things, and every writer knows that you need to process before you can even start writing.

First, I got accepted into Teacher’s College, and of course, I was thrilled about that. But then a month later, I was also accepted in grad school for teaching. There’s quite a difference between the two, but I won’t go though the details. The decision was hard to make, but in the end, I chose grad school. Of course, I’ll still become a teacher–it’ll just take a little bit longer.

Still, it took me a while to sign and return the sheet stating that I did indeed accept their offer. I knew that I wanted to grad school… I knew that it was right for me…but I didn’t know why I was hesitating. I still don’t know why I was hesitating.

Yesterday, I walked to the graduate office and handed in the form. I had to speak to several different people because I had several questions. Everyone I spoke to was pleasantly nice. They were very open, and all congratulated me for my acceptance.

After a few laughs and high-fives (yes, I know!), I walked out of the building only to run into my 12-grade math teacher, Mr. H-. His back was facing me as I walked towards him.

“Mr. H-?” I said.

“Oh hi!” he replied as he gave me a big hug. “What are you doing here?”

“I just got accepted to the graduate program here!”

“You’re going to be a teacher!”

“Oh yes,” said I, beaming.

“Oh come, come! Come with me.”

Confused, I followed him back into the building. He explained that he was holding a conference with students at the school. He’s no longer teaching at my old high school but is instead now working within the school board to make “better teachers and principals.” We walked to an auditorium full of students. The conference hadn’t begun yet, so the crowd was buzzing with excitement. While we stood to the side and chatted, many people came up to Mr.H- and asked him various technical questions. He would reply to their questions and then introduce me as his former student who had just gotten into the graduate program at this school.

Everyone responded in the same way: “Wow! Congratulations!” with a beaming smile. After a while, it was clear that I needed to let him go do his job. We said our “goodbyes and good-lucks.”

And I was walked out of that building, onto the sunny side of the street, I felt for the first time in a long while… settled. I felt reassured. I felt right.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

