Skip to content

The Rest of Summer

July 7, 2014

So I’ve been back from nyc for exactly a week now. Things have naturally been boring. I mean, how exciting can home really be after 6 days of jam-packed fun in one of the busiest cities in the world?

To be honest, I have been suffering from nyc-withdrawal and have been generally quite unenthusiastic about everything. I miss nyc a lot for many reasons. I miss the city itself, of course, but more than that, I missed who I was there. I miss the freedom of doing whatever I wanted whenever I wanted without reporting to anyone. I miss the thrill of new-ness. I miss the experiences.

But I’ve been slowly recovering. Things aren’t so bad today as they were last Wednesday, when I walked down to the Annex and found myself so incredibly sad despite the sun being out and the flowers swaying in the wind. Sun and flowers always make me feel so happy but looking at the beautiful flowers only reminded me of Monet’s paintings, and Monet’s paintings naturally reminded me of the Met, which obviously reminded me of nyc.

But after several days of sitting in coffee shops, writing about the whole nyc experience (so far, I have 15 pages typed about Friday night), I feel much better now. Actually, I’m quite excited at the thought that someday soon, I’ll get to go back to nyc. I’ve been making plans already, writing down things to do on my next trip that SY and I didn’t get a chance to do on our trip. I’ve even started taking a French Impressionistic Art class to prepare for my next visit to the Met.

Today, I dug through my closet and found the tin I used during high school to save money for the shopping spree I wanted at the end of high school. In about 10 months, I had saved around $250. It was awesome. So today, I dug around in my closet and found that same tin. I pimped up the exterior and then wrote a little note to myself, proclaiming that next summer, I would (somehow) be back in nyc.

The next thought that occurred to me–and this thought usually never occurs to me until the end–was how I was going to make the money to finance another trip to nyc. When this thought occurred to me, I found myself wishing I hadn’t spent so much money on shopping when I was in nyc–how useless clothing is when you’ve already got the 7 outfits you need. My mind then jumped back to the dilemma at hand.

How was I going to finance my trip?

My last trip was financed by my dear papa as a graduation gift… and I’m not graduating again next year…. So, can you see my dilemma now? (Ha ha, very funny.) I needed a summer job–just a summer gig because I knew that it would be next to impossible to maintain a job once September started, seeing as how my department sent me a memo that read, “You must treat this program as a full-time job.” How daunting.

A summer gig… but what? I didn’t want to work 8-hour shifts everyday for the 8 weeks of summer that were left. This summer was supposed to be all about doing lots of reading and catching up on my writing. So far, I haven’t been very good at doing either one. I made up my mind yesterday that now that summer’s half-way gone, I really needed to focus. I needed to start reading profusely again and get into the habit of writing every night again.

But how was I to finance my trip to nyc if that’s all I wanted to do for the rest of summer? Read and write? I needed to choose one or the other: work and get the money for my trip or spend the rest of my summer days in cafés and parks, reading and writing.

I chose the latter. My summer is precious to me; my “me-time” is extremely precious to me. I just didn’t want to give it up, especially because this summer could be my last “real” summer before I had to “grow up” or whatever. So I chose reading and writing in cafés and decided that I would just skip out on eating out so often and save that money for nyc. It would be slow-going, but I could make it work. Saving $10 bucks a week for 52 weeks would yield $520, which was really, all I needed. My friend VP, upon hearing how much I loved nyc, excited exclaimed that I should visit her there next year. So that’s that. All I really need is enough money for a plane ticket. The quarters I’ll have left will be enough to get me 8 vegetable dumplings and a hot & sour soup at Prosperity Dumpling on Eldridge street in Chinatown.

But something phenomenal happened when as I was pimping up my money tin and writing the little proclamation note to myself. Someone replied to an ad that I had put up last week on craigslist for private tutoring.

I met her earlier this afternoon, and she seems very willing to want to learn as much as she can in the remaining weeks of summer. She wants to put in 15 hours a week, which is just perfect for me. I’ll still have time to go to my art class, visit coffee shops, and read and write. If everything goes as planned, she will have mastered English grammar and my nyc trip will be financed in no time at all. Let’s hope so!

 

photo 1

You know how they say you should make a wish if the clock strikes 11:11? Well, I think it's no coincidence that I wrote this note at 11:11!

You know how they say you should make a wish if you happened to look at the clock at 11:11? Well, I think it’s no coincidence that I wrote this note at 11:11!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 8, 2014 11:17 am

    Move forward openly with curiosity and amusement with your passions rather than demands and hopes. Don’t expect it to go as planned but know that the unplanned may lead to the best later.

    Erik
    http://erikconover.com

Leave a Reply

