Skip to content

And the Countdown Begins!

November 17, 2014

Hooray for snow!

And no, I am not being sarcastic.

Yesterday marked the day of the first real snowfall for me. My cousin was curling my hair–she had slept over the night before and we were having some sleepover slumber party fun–when the snow started falling. I begged TL to let me go on a walk.

“It’s the first real snowfall! Snow is actually falling in clumps!”

She wouldn’t let me leave the seat.

Too much in the Christmas Spirit–with the snow falling outside my window and all–I had to put on How the Grinch Stole Christmas on Netflix while I waited for my “hair to set.”

Teenage girls, they just love making you over.

It wasn’t until several hours later when I was finally able to step outside to experience the first snow of the year. It was breathtaking. The first snow of the year is really one of my favourite things in the world to experience.

Why?

Because it is a reminder that CHRISTMAS is almost here! Which means Christmas music on the radio; and tree shopping with my dad; and seeing friends over brunch; and singing Christmas carols while baking gingerbread cookies; and going to very loud dinner parties with my thirty-something family members in attendance; and sitting in cafés, sipping on eggnog lattés while turning the pages of a paperback. CHRISTMAS means joy, laughter, and warmth. It means peace and comfort. It means love. It means thinking and caring about others.

And so let the countdown begin! 37 more days y’all.

@ my favourite neighbourhood café where I am such a regular that I am on a first-name basis with all of the baristas…

Me (after being there for 4 hours): Aw man, it’s not snowing anymore!

M- (my fave barista): Ha, why do you like snow?

Me: Because it’s just so magical!

A picture of Santa for good measure.

A picture of Santa for good measure.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

